Why People Are Leaving Church: 5 Important Points For ALL Churches to Consider

The Spiritual Smack Down

My phone (yes, my phone) gave me a reading suggestion the other day of an article whose title really caught my attention:

“Dear Church, Here’s Why People Are REALLY Leaving You”

Needless to say, I was curious…and what did I come to discover?

Firstly, this was written from a faith tradition and worship experience within Christianity that is different from my own. This article really stems from the experience of non-denominational, mega-church circles. I come from a very different experience within mainline Protestantism; specifically New England-based Congregationalism within The United Church of Christ.

Secondly, what really caught my attention were the reasons that the author articulates as being central to people leaving his kinds of churches are precisely the reasons people are discovering my local church. That gives me a lot of hope!

Thirdly, and perhaps most profoundly, is that these are incredibly important questions for any church to consider…

View original post 1,094 more words

Leave a Reply

