AM I A GOOD TREE???

I once had an unnecessary altercation at work.  When I first started working at a company I hated parking on the top level.  My thoughts were, “Why should I have to park on the top level and there are spaces available on the lower level!”  I failed to pay attention to the RESERVED sign on the available spaces.  More like ignored them completely!  So I felt that it was okay for me to park in this spot because no one was using it.  I got away with it for like 6 months and finally someone left a polite note on my windshield saying, “This spot is reserved. Please do not park here.”  If you only use the spot once every 6 months you shouldn’t mind if someone else parks there right??? Wrong!  I shouldn’t have been parking there period.

What does a parking spot have to do with being a good tree?  A lot actually.  I really quick wanted to touch on the subject of self-evaluation.  How is your spiritual walk going with Christ so far?  Are you growing?  Are you moving forward?  Or are you stagnant, stuck, not moving?  Are you growing in reverse, backsliding, still struggling in some areas?  If you feel stuck it’s not a bad place to be.  It just means you need to do some self-evaluation. 

I shared my parking lot story to say at that time in my life even something that seems so simple to me isn’t simple God.  God prefers us to act with integrity.  After all we are his representatives in the earth.  There are many areas in our character that we can benefit from growing.  Growing requires taking off the old and putting on the new.  At age 10 you were kids clothes.  You shopped with your parents at Justice for Kids. When you turned 16, your body changed. You could no longer fit your clothes you wore at age 10.  You had to get all new clothes.  Same with producing good fruit (righteous living) and bad fruit (unrighteous living).

Keep this scripture in the forefront of your mind:

Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit.  A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. 

With God there is no in-between.  You are either growing or not growing. A warning from God for those that are considered lukewarm.  “So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.” Revelation 3:16.  We should never get to a point where we are undecided on what God clearly says in his word.  If you don’t stand with him we are considered against.  Ever had a friend like that?  These days we call them ride or die.  That’s how it is with God.  It’s a safer place to be trust me!

We have to make a decision.  We are either allowing God to develop us or we are producing bad habits, bad thoughts, unfruitful lifestyle.  Make the decision to choose God, choose life, choose Jesus!

 

Leave a Reply

